Red Box Base Group (?):   Link to the About page

The Presidents of Churches Together in England

Churches Together in England is represented by Presidents from the major traditions of our Member Churches

There are six Presidents of Churches Together in England, who each sign a Covenant which describes their commitment to each other and to the churches in England.

CTE’s Presidents meet regularly and liaise on a wide variety of issues of common interest and concern. In the past, they have visited the Holy Land together. 

Their meetings are facilitated by Paul Goodliff, General Secretary of CTE.

Archbishop Justin Welby
The Archbishop of Canterbury

Welby 1 snip

Cardinal Vincent Nichols
The Cardinal Archbishop of Westminster


Revd Dr Hugh Osgood
The Free Churches Moderator

Hugh Osgood

Appointed but not currently enacted (updated Nov 2019)
The President nominated by the Church of Scotland (Presbytery of England), the Council of Lutheran Churches, the Evangelical Lutheran Church of England, the Evangelische Synode Deutscher Sprache in Großbritannien  (German-Speaking Lutheran, Reformed and United Congregations in Great Britain) and the Religious Society of Friends (Quakers in Britain).


His Eminence Archbishop Nikitas
CTE President for the Orthodox Churches, and Archbishop of Thyateira and Great Britain.
see press release of 7 Sep 2021

Archbishop Nikitas

Bishop Tedroy Powell
CTE Pentecostal and Charismatic President, and National Overseer of the Church of God of Prophecy UK.
see press release of 7 Sep 2021Memorandum of Agreement

Bishop Tedroy Powell

In June 2002 the then Presidents signed a Personal Covenant in the presence of Her Majesty The Queen, at Windsor. This Covenant has subsequently been signed by new Presidents as they are appointed.

Low GraphicsCopyrightT&CsPrivacyHelpRegistered Charity 1110782, Comp Reg No 5354231